Chef Forum banner

Food And Wine Matchmaking for Global Hors d' Oeuvres and Appetisers

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  margcata 
#1 ·
By. Margcata

When I worked as a Bartender during my University schooling back in the mid to late 1970s, I had always been surprised at how randomly people matchmaked their wines, cocktails and beers with their appetisers. I have since, become a certified Sommelier and Winetaster and I am writing to share some of my combinations for successful pairing marriages for appetisers or hors d' oeuvres.  Would enjoy hearing from the global Community on their pairings.  

Salami and cold Deli meats ... 

Piedmont, Italy's Bochis Dolcetto di Dogliani bursts with red fruit and is a great balance for for spicy Deli hams and meat varieties. Another fine marriage is Nottola Vino Noble di Montepulciano from Tuscany.

Sea Scallops ... Sashimi and Sushi ...

Rieslings from Germany go with anything that have Wasabi or Ginger due to their high acid and low alcohol content. Another wise suggestion is Trimbach Riesling from Alsace which pairs nicely with Caviar varieties too. Traditional Champagne or a Cava that gently adds the sweet illusion and matches the sea scallops so ever light sweetness.

Goat cheese ... and global cheese platters ...

A dry Wintzenheim Gewurtraminer from Alsace or Penedes, Barcelona has a tangy exotic fruit edge which perfectly pairs with tart goat cheese and young spicy sheep varieties.

A ripe Pinot Gris has a whisper of sweetness and and excellent acidity to beat up fat grams from the cheese. Chardonnays are another selection which work well with global cheese platters and brie, camembert and smoked varieties.

Dishes with Chil Peppers, Cayenne, Hot Paprika and Mexican ...

Refreshingly crisp sparkling California La Reve Blanc from Domaine Carneros

assists in lightning the kick from the chili peppers ... My choice, however, is Iron Horse Cuvee which is just a perfect match.