Foie gras ideas?

Joined Jan 22, 2018
So I will have the opportunity to get some fresh foie gras liver soon and will make foie gras torchon as well as cooking some. The problem is I have limited experience actually eating it and even less preparing dishes with it. an if I am going to spend good money I would like to get the most practice and variety out of the liver available.

aside from having foie gras on toast with salads and the like I do not have alot of experience any creative suggestions/food pairings would be greatly appreciated.

Joined May 22, 2018
Cross hatch, hard sear like a big 3oz portion, and put in the oven until like medium rare/medium unicorn, serve with rhubarb gastrique, and some pickled rhubarb, serve with toast points, classic. Or confit it in red wine serve cold. don't fuck it up tho.

Joined May 5, 2010
So I will have the opportunity to get some fresh foie gras liver soon and will make foie gras torchon as well as cooking some. The problem is I have limited experience actually eating it and even less preparing dishes with it. an if I am going to spend good money I would like to get the most practice and variety out of the liver available.

aside from having foie gras on toast with salads and the like I do not have alot of experience any creative suggestions/food pairings would be greatly appreciated.

I would have to agree with brianshaw here...Please make sure you understand Foi Gras before you attempt to cook it.
There's preparation involved before you cook the liver. BTW....I'm jealous....

Joined Jan 22, 2018
I would have to agree with brianshaw here...Please make sure you understand Foi Gras before you attempt to cook it.
There's preparation involved before you cook the liver. BTW....I'm jealous....