First Real Chef's Knife Gyuto: Vic, MAC, Tanaka?

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by BenGerodin, Dec 4, 2018.

1. BenGerodin

BenGerodin

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Hi all,

I am a home cook with no professional experience and am looking to buy my first real knife. I would really appreciate your opinions and input on my selection.

I’ve used chef friends’ knives occasionally, and have long been considering buying some decent knives of my own. I don’t have access to lots of different knives and I don’t know very much about knives except for doing a lot of review on websites, including this one. I’ve seen a lot of good recommendations on recent threads here, and am considering a couple of different approaches mostly with that background. I do recognize that everyone has their own opinion and it’s a subjective issue - and I’d love your thoughts. I’m left handed, FWIW.

Like many, I initially considered buying a knife block set from a big manufacturer, but it’s obvious after five seconds of research that the quality is not there and also that I don’t need most of the filler knives. I’ve done enough in the kitchen that I use my (lousy) chef’s knife already 90% of the time. So I’m planning to go with the standard suggestions to start with: a good chef’s knife, a serrated bread knife and a paring knife. I’ll probably get the Victorinox paring knife, and the Vic bread knife (10.25 inch) or maybe a Tojiro one (F-687, 270mm) since it’s close to the same price as the Vic. Plus I plan to get an end grain maple board, probably the 20x15 Michigan Maple Block one, and the Idahone honer. I know that everyone recommends sharpening stones as well and I’ll probably do that a little bit down the road.