First Day on the Line

Joined Feb 11, 2010
Greetings:

Part of my college degree was spent studying RHIM.

I have had front and back of the house jobs. Usually the intro stuff you do in college . . . low man on the totum pole. The most cooking experience I have . . . outside of culinary classes that are essentially recipe marithons. I worked as a cook to order breakfast cook in a small hotel. Usually with a kitchen staff of 3 people.

What I am lacking is a frame of reference for the really high end high staff line. And I am starting as the lowest man on the line tomorrow in a high staff higher profile establishment. I lack knowledge of the structural hierarchy and such. And what is a really common beginners mistake in that setting?

I have some legitimate qualifications on my resume and schooling. But I don't think there is any way to get around the fact that I will probably have a big ROOKIE written on my forehead.

Anything I can do to get some extra brownie points?

It is Greek cuisine. With a sizeable staff and decent reputation.

I have never been in a crunch kitchen. And really have not been properly taught the hierarchal structure of a formal and more professional line.

I am not worried about doing the work and learning the menu as I have always been able to cook. But looking like a duck out of water.

What can I expect on my first day?

I am a bit nervous. Can anyone offer any advice? Any big NO's? Any special culinary equipment I should know of for greek cuisine? I was told there is alot of variation to meats and temperatures and such that are crucial. I understand that is normal with any food to prevent food poisoning. But it was explained as considerably more complex than that.

Can you explain line heirarchy?

Joined Aug 21, 2009