Featured Finishing Culinary School soon...what would be the best option?

Discussion in 'After Culinary School' started by hmirchev, Jan 6, 2018.

1. hmirchev

hmirchev

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    Hi everyone,

I've been digging around the forum quite a bit lately and finally decided to make a profile with the intention on getting some advice on what to do after I finish culinary school.

First off, I'm going to be graduating with a culinary arts associate's degree this upcoming May. I currently reside in the US, but I have a European passport, as well a US citizenship, so I can pretty much travel and work/stay anywhere in the US or Europe indefinitely.

Second, I've been wanting to go to Europe after I get my degree and work in a good established restaurant there, preferably in Spain/France/Italy or the UK. I have some work experience working in a restaurant, both front and back of the house, and I'm confident in my abilities. I'm interested in finding a good internship, but I'm not sure how I should go about finding one in Europe or in the US. Of course, if I go the internship route, I'd either need a paid position, or a place which would be able to provide room and board.

Also, if I was to look for jobs online and apply, and they are in different parts of the world, how would the interview process go? I've been told to look for and take the best opportunities which present themselves, as well as working under great chefs, in order to have a real chance of prospering rapidly in this industry. I'm very open to learning new things and I have no problem with working in a top restaurant, without getting any pay, but only if I'm able to have a place to eat and sleep.

I would appreciate any ideas, help, advice, or any other insights you guys might have that would help me out. Thank you in advance.

2. jimyra

jimyra

Exp:
    Professional Chef