Featured Feeling lost in my career

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by KitchenRat, Dec 2, 2017.

1. KitchenRat

KitchenRat

Exp:
    09/30/2019
    I’ve only been cooking professionally for a couple years, but I’ve been cooking my entire adult life- some of it self taught as a housewife back in the day and the rest of my education came from culinary school. Culinary wasn’t my first choice as far as education goes. Early on I allowed myself to be talked out of criminal justice studies in favor of culinary arts. Now I feel I should travel back in time and punch myself in my stupid face for listening to these people. I do love to cook, I have a passion for it (when I’m not on the clock) and I’m pretty good at it too. I’ve worked my way up to Sous for a few different places and even ran an entire kitchen on my own most days at one of my more recent jobs.
    But there was one common factor in all these jobs that I otherwise enjoyed. I liked what I was doing, the crew I was with and the decent money I was making. But I was also paying for all of that with time away from my three kids and my now husband. I very rarely saw my kids when they were not sleeping. They are young and their bio- dad recently died. My husband and myself are all they have. My husband works wonky hours himself but makes exponentially better money than I do. Something had to give so someone could be present for these children. So I gave up being a line pirate to go corporate. First for a retirement home and now I work for a high school. I’m basically working as their private event caterer, but they rarely have need for catering. So on my downtime I’m basically a lunch lady. I can’t argue with the benefits, the weekends or having the same time off that my kids do. It’s perfect in that sense.