Chef Forum banner

Feeling a bit discouraged...

1K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  masseurchef 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm a mature student (36 y.o.) almost finished culinary school and seeking just to gain some hands-on kitchen experience. I'm obviously not in it for the money, since the wage for a line/prep cook is $13-15 / hr in my area (at least that's my understanding). I recently had an interview at a restaurant and the environment seemed very young. I know restaurant work is youth focused, but the other line/prep cooks were 19-20 years old and the people interviewing me -including the chef- seemed to be about 10 years younger than me. It was a bit of a rude awakening; I have no age issues, but I just don't know if it's realistic to be starting out on the line at age 36 or 37. I need to gain practical experience and I'm curious if there are perhaps other avenues. I do have some long-term plans about how I'm going to put my schooling into practice, but I need some guidance about how to gain needed experience in the short term. I'm not completely unprepared for life after culinary school -for example, I know a very experienced chef from Paris who I can work under, but that would be a seasonal and part-time gig. Also, I'm a trained massage practitioner and I have some long term plans about how to combine that with culinary arts -at a resort / tourist operation, for example- but the short term need for experience remains. Thanks for any help. 

#2 ·
I just don't know if it's realistic to be starting out on the line at age 36 or 37.
Why not? Is there an age at when we are to no longer undertake new challenges. If there is, I hope nobody ever tells me; but then I don't listen anyway, or at least I don't according to my wife.

#3 ·