FCI vs. CIA, and debt involved

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by markhopkins, Jun 20, 2005.

1. markhopkins

markhopkins

Hello all,

I am seriously interested in attending culinary school, and have narrowed my choices down to The French Culinary Institute in NYC and The Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY. I have always enjoyed to cook and the restaurant "foodie" scene in NYC - thats why I am considering this career change. I have no prior experience in a professional kitchen. I'm 31 years old and anxious to get my career change rolling. I think I would be better served at CIA since it's a 2 year program and I could learn at a slower pace compared to FCI, which is a 6 month program. However, CIA requires 6 months experience in a real kitchen preparing food and it costs around $60k. FCI, on the other hand, doesn't require any prior experience in a kitchen and the cost is around $40k. I would need to take a full loan package since I don't have any savings. I am concerned with coming out of school with such a heavy debt load, especially considering that line cooks make around $25k/year and in NYC (where I want to work) that is barely enough to eke by, much less have any money left to pay off loans. Would I be better served in the long run by going to CIA and taking on more debt or entering FCI - which is earlier entrance and I would have less debt? Thanks for any advice!

2. culinarygeek

culinarygeek