Equipment help

Joined Apr 8, 2018
Hello,

I just bought a 36 inch grill to use in catering events It has already been converted to lp.however I don't know how to connect it to a propane tank. It has a 3/4 inch nipple.

Thanks

Joined Oct 1, 2006
Hi Fernando,

I think safety, for you and the guests, overrides the expense in this case.

Dealing with pressurized, explosive gas is not the time for a duct tape and bubblegum approach.

Pay someone reputable to do the work. It might just be as simple as changing the nipple but I would not risk my life trying to do it myself. I'm a chef not a steamfitter...

Good luck on your choice that could impact hundreds of lives!

Joined May 25, 2015
That's not the right attitude to have regarding something like this. You are going to need materials that you won't have access to and won't know how to use. If you want your grill to operate properly and safely get your propane supplier or a plumber to set it up for you.

Joined Jan 31, 2012
Who said anything about duct tape and bubblegum?
It's one fitting, guys, and some approved tape or sealer.

OP, who did the propane conversion, you or a factory, or a plumber?
Whats the extent of your plumbing experience?

Joined May 25, 2015
What about the proper regulator and adjusting it for the correct pressure? What hose is he going to use and what adapter to 3/4" pipe thread is he going to need? (I assume this whole thing is going to be portable?) These are all things that you don't get at the local hardware store or Home Depot like you can with BBQ parts.

Joined Oct 10, 2005
I dunno meez,

Catering is like Forrest Gump's box of chocolates: you never know what you're going to get.

You could be doing a bbq for a bunch of plumbers, who would pick out the difference between white Teflon tape (illegal for gas fitting) and yellow tape on the connections from 20 feet away. Or you could cater for a bunch of lawyers, who would use any excuse not to pay full price.