Entry level, low budget chef knife (newbie pls don't shoot me)

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by fox2, Jan 8, 2018.

1. fox2

fox2

Exp:
    Hey all,

First wanted to say I'm enjoying reading here as this forum is full of useful information!

As I am an amateur cook and am looking for an entry level chef knife (8 inch) at a low budget (hopefully under £35) it seemed almost as a 'no-brainer' to get the Victorinox Fibrox (£24) to start with.

However after some browsing I have found a Tojiro DP 21cm chef's knife (B-Stock) for £34 and I am wondering whether the difference is significant and should I invest a bit more (I have a big hand so don't think the 'boxy' handle should be an issue).

In addition I have also found these two -

but couldn't find any reviews online so wanted to ask for your opinions.

I would prefer the knife to be as low maintenance as possible as I am not very keen on sharpening it too often.

Which one would you go for?

Many thanks,
    Ben

2. rick alan

rick alan

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Use tinyurl for any url's that are to big to get posted here. Don't know why this became a problem, but has for a few months now.

35 sterling for the Tojiro DP is a super price, unless "b-stock" is something bad.

3. brianshaw

brianshaw

Exp:
    Former Chef
    B-stock, generally, is either blemished or a returned item. Sometimes just as good a a-stock.

4. Jin

Jin

Exp:
    Line cook
    Pick up knife sharpening skills early will help you greatly. Any knife can be sharpened to be your best tool:)

5. fox2

fox2

Exp:
    Doesn't that mean that it is flawed/ damaged?
    Is it like 'refurbished' with electronics?

Here are tinyurl for the other 2 knives I've seen:
    Godmorn-
    https://tinyurl.com/ya4ct9w7
    pro cook-
    https://tinyurl.com/yb3wv4j3

6. brianshaw

brianshaw

Exp:
    Former Chef