Enthusiastic Amateur - Tacoma, WA

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by The Gordfather, Jan 6, 2018.

1. The Gordfather

The Gordfather

Exp:
    Enthusiastic amateur
    Hello!

My name is John and I am an enthusiastic amateur home cook. I have cared about food and cooking for a long time, but in the last year or two, I have been trying to step up my game, particularly in regard to the fundamentals: Knife skills, stocks, sauces, high heat cooking (I threw together a wok station on my back deck using a propane jet cooker from my homebrew gear), etc. I want to learn how to do things right. I have no professional cooking ambitions, I just want to learn how to do basic stuff really well so I can feed delicious and healthy food to my friends and family.

Eating good food is, in my opinion, a significant part of The Good Life, and I am very interested in developing my skills. The trouble is that I feel like I am kind of in it alone. YouTube videos and internet resources can only get me so far. I would love to be able to ask questions of knowledgeable people and I have stumbled across this forum a few times in the past. I thought it was only for professional chefs, but if you will suffer questions from home cooks, I would love to glean some wisdom from the crowd here.

I work from home full time and my wife just finished her first year as a family doctor. She works extremely long hours and I do all the shopping and cooking. Moreover, we have an active and curious 18-month-old who is very interested in everything I do in the kitchen. I love that he is into hanging out and fixing food with me, but he is often underfoot and wants to be held so he can see what I am doing right in the middle of dinner prep. I have learned to do a great number of tasks one-handed!