Effective work planning materials/tools fo a headchef.

Joined Jan 4, 2020
Hello,
few months ago I was promoted to a headchef's possition in small but busy restaurant. I'm quite new in this industry so everything is new and exciting for me, which I really enjoy. But I constantly find myself overhelmed, stressed by the amount of things to do, remember, organise, etc. Even though I work really a lot, I constantly have a feeling that I am not as effective as i could be, I keep forgeting things or never finishing some not so urgent tasks.
So I'm asking some knowlege from industry experts, on how to be more effective, plan and keep track of all the thing better.
What apps, tools, systems are you using? Maybe someone could share some learning materlials on the topic (books, podcasts, courses, etc)?
Thanks a lot in advance!

Joined May 5, 2010
Hello and welcome to CT.
When I read posts like yours, I get angry and frustrated with our industry even more.
How in the world did you get promoted to a head Chef position without the proper knowledge and experience?
I could go on a rant about this but it doesn't help your situation.

Do you have a boss?
Admit to them your hardships and ask for help.
If they figure out you really don't have what it takes to be a leader, they'll either demote you or let you go.
I'm sure it has to do with the $$$$$.
I cannot stress enough how many times this happens in our industry.
Be honest with yourself. Make a list of your shortcomings and your attributes. You'll see where the help needs to be.
Good luck.

Joined Aug 21, 2004
Think of your workday as a dish that needs to be produced. Write a recipe with an ingredient list and procedures. Then compose a prioritized prep list. Start on and follow the prep lis and produce the dish.

Joined Oct 31, 2012