education ins and outs

Joined Aug 10, 2001
hey everyone, I am new to the industry, only 7 months, and I'm only a dishwasher/prepcook, but I've wanted to be a chef since I was knee-high to a grasshopper and really would like as much advice concerning ways to educate myself as possible. book reccommendations, advice on the red seal test and where to study from, and pretty much everything you wish somebody would've been there to tell you. I know it's alot to ask, but I would be extremely grateful for ANY advice, be it a website, a recommended book, or even just overall tips. thanks so much, and its a great pleasure to have access to such a wonderful site!

[ August 14, 2001: Message edited by: Jonas ]

Joined Mar 30, 2001
Welcome Jonas:
Good to have you here at Cheftalk.

I would say that you are already off to a good start. You are in the kitchen and you are no doubt developing an appreciation of what a tough slog it can be at times. Some people are unpleasantly surprised when they figure out that the commercial kitchen is NOT like the Food Channel.

You will find lots of helpful advice here. Search the forums, ask lots of questions and have fun.

Cheers
Linda

Joined Jun 28, 2001
Welcome Jonas.
Lots of good info on this site.As for books,there is a topic on the boards already that myself and others have posted books(not cookbooks) about the Culinary Arts.Check that out and it will give you some good ideas as where to start.

Learn all you can at your present job,don't be afraid to ask for more responsibility if you think you are up to it.

I started out as a dishwasher 16 years ago and worked my way to Sous(well I will be Certified as a Sous in a little while,going back to school for the mandatory 3 courses that the ACF wants you to have---that starts next Monday)

Good luck,and stick to it.

Billy [email protected]

Joined Dec 12, 2000