eating

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by mage, Apr 7, 2003.

1. mage

mage

as a cook i have extremely late nights (followed by early mornings for my second job)...my problem is i dont like to eat at work because it slows me down so i normally take an energy bar and move on but when i get home i am hungry. can't eat a full meal and go directly to bed (even after checking email its still too soon to go to bed). when i get up i have just enough time to cook breakfast for my family and get ready for work again. preety much the only time i have to eat a decent meal is when i have days off, my question to you all is what light meals do you eat after a long day or do you bite the bullet and have a full meal?

2. jim berman

jim berman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Not really an answer for you, however, I had the same scenario working in restaurants. Too busy at work to eat (or didn't want to eat the same stuff over and over and over). Or, got home too late to eat. What an awful quandry.
    I used to love going out for late night meals after work.... 24-hours joints with lots of greasy stuff. But, now I have a belly that I would rather not have.

3. mage

mage

yeah i am trying to avoid the stereotypical chubby chef syndrome. i am starting to buy alot of fruit and saltines but im sure that a diet of fruit and crackers cant be too healthy

4. ironchefatl

ironchefatl

Exp:
    Other
    Froot Loops!:lips: :lips:

5. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    It's really stupid, I fill other people's fridges for a week's worth of meals....all healthy low fat, full flavor.....what do I do? Eat out...or eat shtuff. How about having a bunch of steamed veg around to make an omelet or veg sandwich or veg salad.....if it's prepped assembly is not that time consuming....obviously not fruit loop conveniance but not greasey fatty stuff either.