Dutch Oven Breads

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by JustJoel, Jan 13, 2018.

1. JustJoel

JustJoel

Exp:
    Home cook
    Im just starting to learn about Dutch oven breads, aka “no-knead breads” and sometimes “artisan breads.”

I made one yesterday. A piña colada bread, with macadamia nuts, coconut flakes (I couldn’t find any unsweetened at the supermarket! Really!), pineapple juice as hydration, and chocolate chips. It was possibly a fluke, but it came out perfectly.

The reason I say it was a fluke is because I had so much grief mixing the dough. I mixed it in the bread maker, and even though dough is at 80% hydration, I found myself having to add more liquid, just to save my poor bread machine’s life!

Then, I looked at some other basic recipes for no-knead bread. Most of them are at about 50% hydration (3 cups flour to 1 1/2 cups flour, I didn’t bother to convert it to weight, yet, because it seems to be prevalent). And an article in Cook’s Country website says the optimal hydration is 68%. A few other recipes had the hydration at 90%, or more!

So is there a consensus on hydration for baking bread in a Dutch oven? Is there a master formula? I know that the hydration needs to be higher than bread baked in a standard oven to produce the steam that makes that lovely crust. And are there any books on the subject that aren’t camping-centric? (My idea of “camping” is having to stay at a Holiday Inn Express instead of the Marriott.) I have no interest in the minutiae of how many coals to put on top the lid, and how many under the Dutch oven.

Since I’m here, one other question: Do bakers’ formulas include extraneous ingredients like fruits and nuts, or cheese? And if I want to add yogurt or sour cream, do I subtract that amount from the total hydration? Honey?