Duck Fat Rules!

kuan

Staff member
Joined Jun 11, 2001
I love duck. I love duck fat even more. Why Emeril says pork fat rules I don't know. I like chewing on duck fat, munching on skin, and gnawing on duck bones. I love duck fat so much I use it for sauteing. Last night I used it in my warm potato salad along with my sweet and sour cabbage. I could live on duck fat. :)

Duck Fat Rules

Kuan

Joined May 1, 2001
Haveyou tried schmaltz? Rendered poultry fat has a long history in Eastern European (especially Jewish) cooking. My wife's Viennese grandmother insisted the finest schmaltz was made from duck and goose fat.

In New York, the 2nd Avenue Deli is famous for the jug of schmaltz on every table. The house delicacy is Roumanian tenderloin steak with schmaltz. You can HEAR your arteries hardening as you eat!:rolleyes:

Joined Nov 6, 2001
Oh Khuan!

I think that you made yourself pretty clear!

I wouldnt even try to propose lighter dishes to you!

Joined Jul 31, 2000
As a chef i couln't live without duck fat,
I'm with you Kuan,Potatoes,sweet breads,onions..anything cooked in duck fat is fine with me..Well,almost anything ;)
cc

Joined Jul 24, 2001
Wow I have traced this thread a couple of days ago!

Khuan, you have courage to start this thread.
In Greece they make this with pork!

Excellent!!!
Next time you come to my country I hope you visit us to ecxhange tips because in my family we do some hunting also;)

May I ask for a recipe or a tip for a duck confit?

thanks

Joined Mar 9, 2000
I love duck fat, too! At the CIA we did darphane potatoes in lots of duck fat, but really canoloa would do the heart better......but every once in a while you gotta have da real thang, you know?

For Athanaeus, here is my rendition of duck confit!

* Exported from MasterCook II *

Confit de Canard (Duck Confit)

Recipe By : John Paul Khoury,CCC
Serving Size : 50 Preparation Time :3:00
Categories : Poultry

Amount Measure Ingredient -- Preparation Method