Double majoring, is it a good idea?

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by zane, Jun 7, 2010.

1. zane

zane

Exp:
    Other
    I've taken two courses so far, one in Baking / Pastry and one in regular cooking. I know most people at some point choose one path to focus their degree or career on, but is it a bad idea to consider getting a degree in both areas?

2. chrislehrer

chrislehrer

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I am neither a professional chef nor a former culinary student. I am a college professor. You can decide to what degree my remarks are worthy of your attention.

Many people double-major because they think it will assist them in getting a job. On the whole, this is not the case, statistically. People hiring do not, as a rule, look at this sort of information terribly closely.

Some people double-major because they are passionately interested in more than one thing, and cannot find a single program that suits this joint interest. Such people come in two stripes, I find: those who are diffuse, and those who are extremely dedicated. The diffuse would be well advised not to double-major, as it means they end up with a minimal functional knowledge in two fields and no really deep understanding of anything. Those who are truly dedicated can make it work, because they essentially do the work of two students.

Supposing, for example, that you are doing cooking because you truly love it, and are doing pastry because you truly love it, and just cannot stand the idea of giving up anything, and are willing to work essentially double hours because you just love it so much -- in that case, you should certainly double-major. Otherwise, I think you would probably be better off devoting yourself to whichever of the two stokes your passion the more deeply.

3. culinuthiast

culinuthiast

Exp:
    Culinary Student