Doing this on a college campus

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by werdnanoslen, Nov 13, 2009.

1. werdnanoslen

werdnanoslen

Exp:
    Private Chef
    I'm in a dorm this year, but I'll be in an apartment next year. I can't imagine I'll have much room for a full garden, but what are the best herbs that will grow either in direct sunlight via windowsill planter, filtered sunlight through a window, or artificial light inside?

Again, I'm a college student, so I don't have the money to get fancy indoor artificial lighting and planting equipment.

2. kyheirloomer

kyheirloomer

Exp:
    Food Writer
    You don't need anything fancy; nor do you need a lot of room.

See some of the comments on the ajoining thread about a potted herb garden for insights on how to get going.

There are very few herbs you can grow at all that can't be done indoors. As noted on the other thread, artificial light, either alone or as a supplement to natural light, is the best way to proceed.

As a space saver, you might consider a single-pot herb garden. One way is to use a strawberry pot, which gives you several openings to work with. That is, you can plant both in the actual mouth and in each of the side cups. But even that's not necessary. You can use a relatively wide pot (ten or 12 inches, for instance) and plant several complimentary herbs in it: basil, perhaps, along with oregano or marjorum, chives, tarragon, mint----whatever trips your trigger. I recently saw this approach done by grouping herbs by cuisines---an Italian mixture, for instance.

I would not include the herbaceious herbs like rosemary in a mixed pot, however.

Even if you go with a shop light and four-foot bulbs, getting started shouldn't cost more than about $20-25.

One additional thought. If you're going to do this using an existing window, in my experience the sills usually aren't wide enough. So you might want to build a shelf that extends out from the sill to give you enough surface area.

3. werdnanoslen