Does Advertising equal success in local eating establishments?

Joined Apr 4, 2002
howdy,
I am currently studying Food and Hospitality for my SACE Stage 2. I have been given an independant study to complete and need some relevent info, if you could PLEASE help me with this it would be appreciated, The topic I have chosen to research is;
"Does Advertising Equal Success in Local Eating Establishments."

ThankS!

:)

Joined May 26, 2001
In one way, yes: if there is enough money coming in to be able to spend (=waste) some on advertising, you're pretty successful.

However, it can be the direct opposite. Restaurateurs who have no clue about how to run a place sometimes think that "if you advertise, they will come." Rather than understanding that positive word-of-mouth, and reviews/editorial stories (which COST NOTHING) are what bring in customers, they'll try to save their business by throwing away money on ads. Instead of figuring out where they can save, how they can be more efficient, and improving the quality of their food and service.

So what I'm getting at is: NO

Joined Sep 21, 2001
I find that customers and word of mouth advertising are the best. First, people believe their friends. You can't believe everything you see on the telly, can you?
Second, it gives the customer a sense of participation. Don't you get a thrill from taking someone to a new, yet undiscovered restaurant and having the experience exceed everybodys' expectations. I find it is a coup to be the one to say: " I found this great little place....."

Joined Feb 6, 2002
Advertising is expensive and doesn't always work. We rely on word-of-mouth. Our best advertising firm is our customers! They have actually eaten at our place. Some have posted reviews on their websites and we have had their friends show up.

The best way to advertise is called SERVICE. :bounce: :bounce: