Chef Forum banner

Does a college degree have anything to offer a young cook?

986 views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  greenguy 
G
#1 ·
This is my first post, so I will just add a little background.

I have been cooking professionally for about three years. It all started after I enrolled in a culinary arts program at my local community college in attempt to learn a little about more about food, because as a hospitality student, I figured that was important. The class was not exactly what I thought it would be, and although I did not pull much useful information from the class, through a friend of our T.A., I was given the opportunity to stage in the kitchen of a prestigious social club here in Los Angeles. This stage was what made me want to be a cook; I loved how you could leave work after a long tiring day with gained knowledge and a feeling of accomplishment. That being said I jumped into the industry and applied for a stage in my neighborhood, where unbeknownst to me I would begin working for some of the better cooks in the area. From there I continued working, enjoying every second of it, even on nights where I found my self deep in the weeds that I thought would never end. Over the past three years I have gone from a part time worker and full time student to a cook and part time student. I honestly don't know why I continued schooling, but I am getting to the point in my traditional education where I can either transfer to University or graduate from my Community College. I FEEL STUCK. I have been there for so long already... It's not that I did poorly, in fact I did quite well in my classes, but with budget cuts and cut classes, as well as the fact that I am a part time student it just took a while to complete requirements.

SO... lol. My question is since I have already invested so much time into an education that I am unsure whether it will aid me as a cook into chefdom... SHOULD I CONTINUE?