Do you use food processors?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by broncoboxer, Oct 3, 2010.

1. broncoboxer

broncoboxer

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Noob here,

I barely know the first thing about cooking.  In my short time trying, I've already broken the tips off two fairly inexpensive Chef's knives.  All the same, the knives still work.  Anyway, my question has nothing to do with Chef's knives (though I would like to get a nice one some day--just as soon as I can stop dropping them on the tile floor...).

My question is about food processors.  Ours is missing the blade--probably got lost while moving.  Plus, it was an old junky GE special from Wal-Mart.  We probably paid $20 for it.  So I'm considering getting a new one.  But since I never cooked much in the past, I have no idea if I'll get much use out of it.

So, do you guys and gals use food processors much?  Are they helpful?  If so, would you recommend a certain brand/model?

Thanks in advance.

--Bronco

2. boar_d_laze

boar_d_laze

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    The top two brands are Cuisinart and Kitchen Aid.  Both are more than fine. 

The best size, models and attachment sets depend on how often you'll entertain, and how often you'll use it. 

Home bakers who use their processors for things like mixing pie and bread dough tend to use theirs more often than those who mix by hand.   Barbecuing families that run through gallons of cole slaw every week can't live without them.  People who throw big parties or cook for big families not only use their processors more but want bigger work bowls. 

They can be fantastic time savers, or countertop space wasters.  I don't use mine that often through the course of the year, it's been sitting unused for three months right next to the bread box.  But as we swing into the holiday season, I'll run it more often -- so why put it away now?