Do I Need a Culinary Degree to be a Chef?

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by chizburger, May 7, 2012.

1. chizburger

chizburger

Exp:
    At home cook
    I was a culinary student before but had to drop out because of some financial problems. But my passion was cooking and i really love food. unfortunately i could not continue my education. so im wondering if is possible to become a chef would out a certificate? I love to cook and I believe becoming a chef requires more than being kitchen-savvy. You need sharp communication skills, honed creativity and business acumen. A college degree in culinary arts helps you gain these skills, but it's not a necessity. In the end, it will take several years of experience and learning at the hands of an experienced chef, not a high-priced degree, to become a successful chef.

Im planning on applying for a job here in the Philippines. and I'm scared that they might not hire me once they learn i dont have any certificate to show. But I'm willing to learn and I know that i am a very fast learner because i give everything to what i do. 

I need some advice to all professional chefs, should i proceed with my plan and try to look for a job on a kitchen or just forget all about it

I know i can do this. I know im capable. I just need some boost of confidence, any advice or pep talk could help me alot. this is my dream, this is my passion,  what should i say when they ask if i have a degree. thats my dilemma.

chefdenada likes this.
  2. chefedb

chefedb

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    My opinion   NO you need years of quality experience and exsposure  to culinaary arts on a quality level.

I know plenty of guys with culinary school credentials that could not run a candy store.

bloodymary likes this.
  3. chizburger

chizburger

Exp:
    At home cook