Do I have it in me to be a professional chef?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by slickbooty17, Apr 13, 2017.

1. slickbooty17

slickbooty17

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I love to cook and have recently wanted to pursue a career as a chef. My friend had just gotten promoted to jr sous so he was kind enough to score me a job training as a prep cook. I have no culinary experience other than occasional home cooked meals when I have the money. My chef recently cut my hours and gave me a couple days in dish pit cause I don't work fast enough. My work isn't horrible but at the same time I'm learning all these new things. Admittedly I am a bit slow and my knife cuts suck right now. My question is, am I getting in everyone's way and should I just quit or is it still possible to be a chef and not have super sonic speed? I'm not moving slow to the point where I'm holding everyone back but I am the new guy and I can tell the chef wants to get rid of me. The dishwasher has told me he didn't see me being a good chef anyways and that I make a much better dishwasher lol

2. maghiritza

maghiritza

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Let me assure you: every 'new' person gets treated like a little bitch in the beginning, wether its a trained chef or a newbie. So you gotta suck it up and work through that first shitty period where you will get nasty chores and such.
    Speed is something that goes hand in hand with confidence, if you feel confident in your work, your speed will automatically pick up. So you just gotta do the thing you lack speed in over and over untill it goes on autopilot.