Do Chefs/Owners want to hear suggestions from Clients?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by amw5g, Sep 18, 2003.

1. amw5g

amw5g

I am of the opinion that a chef and/or owner would welcome constructive criticism in conjunction with positive comments. A colleague of mine tells me that I'm wasting my time and making enemies if I do so and that the staff "is not looking for advice from a peon like" me. True I'm not a professional and don't play one on TV, but if I represent any significant portion of the population's restaurant go-ers, would my suggestions not be appreciated if polite, well thought-out and accompanied by lots of "I liked this and this and this"?
    So I turn to you, the real pros to see how you run your shows.
    Much obliged!
    Andrew

2. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    That's a very interesting question and I'm glad you brought it up.

In my experience, few chefs will take customer comments seriously, positive or negative. However, most will pay close attention to the dirty plates that go to the dish pit, and observe what people leave behind.

The chef I work for finds that people who write their customer reviews on-line are people who have nothing better to do with their time, and therefore their opinion doesn't count. I find this attitude really unfortunate. He also argues with the waiters when people return their meat if the colour isn't right (as if it were their fault) and he responds to criticism with the old "they don't get my concept" line.

Playing devil's advocate here, I'd also have to say that we get many comments from people who really don't have a clue what they are eating, who think that braised rabbit is a seafood etc. So credibility will be a factor after getting a few too many comments from such customers. Another factor to consider, is that we do have customers who come up to the pass and chat it up with the chef in hopes of getting special treatment. (and, I'm sad to report, they sometimes do)