Diver Scallops

nicko

Founder of Cheftalk.com
Staff member
Joined Oct 5, 2001
One of my favorite seafoods is Scallops. Although as a chef I have prepared scallops many times, I have never worked with Diver Scallops. Just curious what some of the more notable differences are from others who have worked with them.

Joined Apr 24, 2001
Now that my mouth finally stopped watering, I might be able to type this post. After having cooked and eaten diver scallops, I don't ever want to go back to the other ones.

Diver Scallops are completely fresh and very perishable. So make sure you have the best source. The only processing they are supposed to undergo is being shucked from the shell and placed in the bucket in which you receive them. The other ones are flash frozen on the boat as soon as they are shucked. Prior to freezing, they are mixed with some kind of solution to keep plump and maintain texture once they are thawed. Notice that these always say scallop product on the packaging. Thus diver scallops are dryer and more yellow looking than the other ones. You never have to truly drain diver scallops the way you have to drain the other ones. I think that diver scallops taste sweeter, too, but I am not sure whether that's because I am willing them to be. I like to get my cast iron really hot and sear the diver scallops with a little salt and pepper. I serve them around tender greens (snow pea shoots, or spinach, or chinese broccoli) sauteed with garlic and a little oyster sauce. Or I like snow peas or sugar snap peas sauteed with oyster mushrooms, a little garlic and a touch of oyster sauce.

I think they would also be delicious as a filling inside a phyllo purse with a chopped spinach and tiny bit of crisped bacon. Not too fancy because I want the folks who are eating these to know they are getting a premium product.

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000