Did I Goof!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by cakerookie, May 15, 2006.

1. cakerookie

cakerookie

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I got this wild idea yesterday that I would sign on at Cooks Illustrated and volunteer to be a recipe tester. Got an e-mail from them today. I have no idea what I have got myself into. Anybody know from experience what I should expect? I just thought it would be fun and give me some experience trying different dishes and using ingredients that I have never used before. Did I goof?

Regards Cakerookie....

2. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    The purpose of testing a recipe is to see if it makes sense and if it works -- that is, can a normal person follow it and get the desired outcome? (Well, as normal as any of us may be. :eek: ) I tested recipes for Paula Wolfert for the update of The Cooking of Southwest France and tried out to test recipes for an upcoming cookbook from Gourmet magazine. I found it fun, and yes, you may get to do some dishes you might not otherwise, but it's more like working in a science lab than cooking in your own kitchen. You need to discipline yourself to follow everything to the letter.

Things to remember when you test recipes:
    1. If they give you guidelines on how they want things written up, follow them precisely. They may give you a report form to use -- if so, use it, and answer all the questions they ask with as much detail as you can. If they don't give you a form, be as clear and complete as you can.
    2. Follow the recipe you are given EXACTLY AS IT IS WRITTEN, or as closely as possible. Don't change anything unless you absolutely must (see #4 and #5 below).
    3. Keep very specific notes on what you did when making the dish, what (if anything) you didn't understand in the recipe, and what you had to do differently if you couldn't follow the recipe as written.