Defining Gluten for service

Joined Jan 29, 2017
Hello ya'all,

I have been cooking for two decades, just now taking my first chef position in a italian eatery. The place I am going to be managing currently does not offer gluten free pizza , because "they have wheat flour in the oven and that would make the gluten free crust covered in wheat flour".

Pretty sure this is incorrect. I mean, we could be coating with semolina or similar instead of flour, but further more, isn't gluten when proteins mix with water and the glutens are worked ?

Is there some sort of resource that I could find to help educate my  owners so we can offer gluten free?

Thanks in advance,

--IceMan

Joined Aug 15, 2003
First off, kudos for trying to accommodate gluten free people at your new gig.

FYI, semolina contains gluten, it is a wheat flour. So using semolina won't help.

And no, gluten is not formed from mixing or making dough. It is a protein present in the wheat itself and ever present. We WORK the gluten in doughs to make them more developed and tougher (as in bread and pasta) but they are always there.

They are most likely correct about the oven, it is contaminated. People on low or no gluten Diets might not notice, but people with allergies like celiacs definitely can't do that.

Your best bet would be using a pizza pan or sheet tray to bake a pizza with a gluten free crust, but even that might be spotty for celiacs.

It's tough but maybe not in the cards for you guys

Last edited:
Joined Jan 29, 2017
Interesting, I guess I need some education on this too. Out of twenty years, you think I would know exactly what I am talking about, but I can't live without gluten lol!

Yeah, a sheet pan wouldn't really do the trick for crispness , probably be to soggy. Not going to stop me from trying. Could I steel-brush the flour off the deck before putting down a GF pizza? Or maybe a marble stone just for GF?