Define the path

Discussion in 'After Culinary School' started by tziko, May 5, 2017.

1. tziko

tziko

Exp:
    Just Graduated From Culinary School
    Hello everyone im a potentially future cook from greece , this is my last year as a student and im in position to choose my next training facility whether its hotel or restaurant. Last year i tried an all inclusive hotel which was helpful giving me my first experience in the industry. Anyway lets get to the point of the topic , the thing is i wonder whats its like to make your first steps in the industry ? What to choose now you are a newbie amongst older and more experienced cooks and make your first steps in the kitchen. Nowdays i tend to have discussions with people of my age , what path should i choose and i wonder. Culinary industry is vast its like an endless sea of possibilities and im just a youmg future cook dreaming big willing to make sacrifices when it comes to the demanding nature of cooking. So whats the right path for a rookie ? Go to a gourmet restaurant with michellin stars and when the teacher is like make a hollandaise you are like what is this? Go to a traditional a la carte restaurant and learn medittaranean kitchen ? Or go to a massive hotel with big facilities? The question is we are just starting should we focus so much on the fancy things and probably skip major factors of kitchen like making a bechamel a demi glace or learn how to sautee blanche etc...

Sorry if my post is confusing , im just trying to define my path in the industry and having a veteran give me a hint or 2 would be helpful

Thank you all have a great day.

2. chefe1492

chefe1492

Exp:
    Professional Chef