Deep Frying at home

Joined Jan 25, 2021
So - I to quite a few high end meals a week - AND I recently got a sous vide, and love it. However, the one area I have purposely stayed away from over the years is deep frying at home. I used to work as a short order years ago, and I remember how bad the big fryers used to smell at the end of the day, and want no part of that in my home; PLUS what on earth do you do with the oil once you have cooked? It is a pain in the butt to get rid of it. Now - these are my perceptions, and I am willing to listen as you all can educate me on a better way to be able to do deep frying at home in a way that makes sense.... I am listening.
I love my asian dishes, and a lot of the meat dishes are prepped then deep fried, and I would like to do these at home.....

Joined Dec 18, 2010
Outdoor kitchen. Many Asian and Indian households have one... a good model for frying or “odiferous “ cookery.

Joined Jan 8, 2010
Outdoor kitchen indeed.
A wok works well.
Let the oil cool down after deep frying and strain.
It will keep several times.
Obviously, keep fish-oil seperate and use only for fish.
I have no experience with the modern deep fryers. At home we hardly ever used one (only for new year) and it stood in the garage ;)

Joined Sep 5, 2008
I use a deep fryer that has a lid, and place it outside on my balcony. I reuse the oil a few times before changing it. When I need to change it, I compost the old oil.

Joined Jan 8, 2010
I actually started to use the old oil to light the charcoal grill :)
Works a dream!

Joined Oct 31, 2012
My father used to have a small commercial electric fryer in the basement for Friday night fish and chips. He made a wooden cover for it to keep out air and dust. It never stunk up the house, just the basement for a couple of hours.