DCS range

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by lvasquez, Nov 11, 2002.

1. lvasquez

lvasquez

Hello everyone,

I am new to this. I am thinking of buying a DCS 5 burner range along with an over the range GE Profile Spacemaker microwave/convection oven. I have VERY limited space therefore I need to put the micro over the oven. It has a 300 cfm. Any thoughts? Thanks for your help.

lvasquez from NY

P.S. Any ideas on flooring? I was thinking about a wood floor.

2. fyfas

fyfas

Exp:
    Can't Boil Water
    Lots of previous discussion here on ranges, brands etc. which you might find interesting. I've just finished a remodel and bought Wolf but looked long and hard at DCS and would have been just as satisfied with a DCS I believe.

Further to your question, I would strongly discourage anything above such a powerful range other than the strongest ventilating hood. First off the ventilation of something like a "double" Vent-A-Hood is essential unless you like a smokey kitchen and, second, I cannot imagine any oven, much less a microwave surviving the heat up above this range.

Just an opinion and I will gladly defer to any kitchen design "professional" who would like to jump in.

3. lvasquez

lvasquez

fyfas,

Thanks for your prompt reply. I have been told the same thing by my contractor. I am now looking at alternatives. Thanks for your help and good luck with your new kitchen.

4. panini

panini

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    lVasquez
    I just finished a kitchen remodel. Head back in the equipment, lets see? September and you will find a long thread addressing your question.
    CMVnatural is a wealth of info!! He or she has actually tested a lot of this stuff.

I feel the DCS is the best(are you considering the 5 burner?) I believe ti was CMV who told me to get the newest model for the BTU's were higher then the old.