Dangers of Adding Herbs to Oil

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by shel, Sep 20, 2008.

1. shel

shel Banned

Exp:
    Other
    I posted a technique for oven drying tomatoes and then packing them in olive oil. I suggested that some fresh herbs might be added to the oil for a flavor enhancement. It was suggested that doing such a thing could be dangerous as some sort of bacteria could grow and cause people to become ill.

This seems a little odd to me because I've been adding herbs to dried tomatoes for years with no ill effects and because I know of at least two California companies that make oil-packed sun dried tomatoes that use herbs in their product. In addition, I have been using a French oil - Moulins de la Brague - for many years that is shipped with fresh rosemary and other herbs and peppers in the bottle, and they've been making the product for a few hundred years.

So now I'm curioius. Is there a potential for a health problem when using fresh herbs in oil products? If so, how do the aforementioned companies add the herbs safely?

2. phoebe

phoebe

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I just found this info on the UC Davis Extension site for Calaveras County.

FLAVORED OILS