Culinary school VS Start in a kitchen

Discussion in 'Choosing A Culinary School' started by tlod, Nov 29, 2018.

1. tlod

tlod

Exp:
    NA
    Hi,

Ive been researching for a while and some people say "Culinary school is a waste of money" others say "Go to culinary school".

Just to give you a bit about my background: I have a MSc in a none food related subject, have been playing with the idea of switching to become a chef (because of my passion). In 2016/2017 I tried to contact some restaurants in Italy to see if it was possible to get a work for free internship or similar, but none approved. I have been cooking for the most of my life. Age 26.

What kind of food:
    - Italy (preferred)
    - French

Culinary school, I have considered:
    - The University of Gastronomic Sciences
    - Or FUA Apicius in Florence
    - The obvious Le Cordon (But have read lots of bas reviews from this, and based on the $$$$ fee)

What do I want? Find a mentor who know his/her shit and become a good chef.

Does anyone have any advice on what to do, who to contact or similar? Probably a no-brainer, but I do not expect advice such as "Contact Gordon Ramsay" etc.

2. Robs

Robs

Exp:
    Culinary School
    2 things to keep in mind

1. Culinary School is normally very expensive.
    2. Cooks normally make very little money.

Normally I would say only go to a top program if you want to work in fine dining at a famous restaurant right out of school.
    In the US there are also cooking programs at low cost offered at what we call Community Colleges. It's a good start and will prepare you for an entry level job in a kitchen. I also want to note that someone without any experience can also apply for an entry level job in a kitchen.

Think about what kind of food you want to cook and what restaurants are in your area that you really enjoy the food from and beg your way into their kitchen.