Culinary school vs. colleges

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by retroguy, Jan 23, 2002.

1. retroguy

retroguy

Hi, I am jsut wondering if there is a huge difference in a culinary school and a college like SAIT (Souther Alberta Institute of Technology) which does have a culinary course and it is the smae length etc. The only thing it does not seem to have is the actual restaurant to work in? As I am in Canada there is not many choices for schools and am thinking of the one in Vancouver as a culinary school. I live in Calgary, and would like one close to their, but the only choice is SAIT as I said. What are hte pros and cons of both, etc...

Thanks,

2. culinarian247

culinarian247

As a newbie here I can't really comment on the differences. But there is an LCB school in Ottawa you can look into.

3. dcifan2k

dcifan2k

I don't know to much about this subject but I hope that my little insight might help. the difference between the two is that when you go to a college you will also be getting your basic education aka GED if you go to a program you will only be getting culinary education. from what i have seen between the two companies and resturants prefer the college. my friend was going to do a le cordon bleu course and they said there hire rate was 75% which is good but the college that I'm going to that has culinary arts says that there hire rate is 98% but this is just my little insight so you do what you feel you need and go where you will be comfortable I hope this helps

Michael

4. chef tim

chef tim