Chef Forum banner

Culinary School decisions

10K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  Andika 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am new here and discovered this would be a great place to get some great advice. I've been baking and cooking since I was very young and bake on the side for events, farmer's markets and things like that. I've always enjoyed baking but have recently decided I would like to pursue this in a more professional way. I'm currently 24 and work in a completely unrelated field. I graduated high school but have no further, formal education. Lately, I've been looking at attending culinary school, specifically for a pastry program. My top choices so far are:
1. CIA(California or Texas campus)
2. ICE(California campus)
3. Le Cordon Bleu(London or Paris campus)

Cost isn't really an issue as it is paid for through a family fund. My local community college no longer offers culinary programs and they weren't good to start according to a friend who went. My thought process is if I decide to go and it's already paid for, why not go to the best? I'm also open to continuing my self-taught path but would appreciate some tips. There's a lot of other issues that are factors in my choice(4 year boyfriend will leave me if I go) so I'm leaving a lot of doors open. I'm planning on finding a bakery here to work at before making a final choice. Any advice on the schools and their programs or how I can better teach myself would be appreciated! Thank you!

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Hi and welcome to CT! :)