Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland July 2017 Intake - New Culinary Student Seeking Advice

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by abk87n, Apr 15, 2017.

1. Bakery & Cafe

0 vote(s)
  2. Multi Cuisine (All You Can Eat)

0 vote(s)
  3. Specialty One Cuisine Restaurant

0 vote(s)
  4. Food Truck

0 vote(s)
  5. Catering

0 vote(s)
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. abk87n

Hi all,

I am a prospective culinary/management student. I am set to join the Culinary Arts Academy for their Master in International Business in Culinary Management program. I am 30 years old Entrepreneur with mainly Steel Manufacturing and Construction experience so far. But I have long wanted to start an enterprise in the Food Industry Restaurants/Manufacturing etc. And therefore recently I have taken some time off from my current business (partners handling it) and am set to get educated/trained for the Industry.

I understand that culinary school is no replacement for handwork in the industry of several years. But since I don't have the latter option really, I don't expect myself to be the Chef at my restaurant or the Master Baker at my Bakery, but instead mostly the Owner/Operator with necessary technical skills that make me more effective and efficient in running my business, I feel maybe just getting some exposure in a school may give me a better idea of how to enter the business, instead of relying on consultants or trial and error. I am very passionate about cooking and hope that over the years I can develop enough skills to be my own chef/owner, to be creative and design my own menus.

Anyway, 3 reasons for this thread:

1) I would really appreciate the advice of any of the experienced Chefs and or Restaurant/Culinary Establishment Owners on how someone in my situation can now spend my free time (about 2 months) and then what kind of market research I should be conducting before attending CAA in order to get the most out of this degree.