Croissants

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by amethyst511, Jan 26, 2018.

1. amethyst511

amethyst511

Exp:
    Pastry Chef
    Hi everyone, I'm new here and I'm hoping to learn loads. I already have - I just read through 10 pages of search results on croissants to learn from you and also not ask questions that have already been addressed in the past.

I have been a pastry chef for the past 6 years, and only now am I getting into vinennoiserie. I've made puff pastry, inverted puff pastry, laminated brioche, kouign amann, kugelhopf with great success (all by hand), but a good croissant eludes me.

After about half a dozen trials I have realised that I go too thin with my dough between folds (6mm) and at the end of 3 simple turns, the layers are too married into each other when I roll it out to 3mm to shape.

My ingredients: Isigny St. Mere butter, plain flour, instant yeast (just ordered ormotolerant yeast to see if that helps),
    My tools: Large French rolling pin, kitchen at 19-20°C and and pastry wants to keep the thickness of my rolled out butter and dough precise.

Here are my specific questions:
    * How thin should I roll our a recipe (with 250g roll-in butter for perspective)
    * How many folds do you typically make?
    * How thin is your final rolled out dough before shaping?
    * What is the size of your triangle for a croissant and the rectangle for a pain au chocolat
    * What is the % of yeast in your recipe (please mention type of yeast you are using)

Also! I've been seeing wonderful photos of Bachour's croissant's all over instagram, but book reviews say that the steps aren't clearly mentioned. Has anyone tried his method/book?

Many thanks in advance for your participation!

2. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    Kouign-amann is a croissant that's finished in a different shape; if you had great success with it, there's no reason why you cannot make a good croissant.

Anyway, to answer your questions: