Corporate Chef

Joined Jul 11, 2003
Hi Everyone
Im new to the board and want to know if there are any corporate chefs out there and what the job is like. Im being interviewed for one with a "well known concept" and am just not sure of the pros and cons. Thanks

drx

Joined Jul 10, 2003
Hi gochef,
Pros: Usually, corporate has better hours than a regular gig. Benefits should be excellent. Pay should be great. All the bells and whistles you don't get with a regular restaurant job, a corporate gig should have.
Cons: Lotsa politics, stress, and forget about creativity, you are there to follow and implement the plan that is set before you created by someone you probobly will never see. If you can be specific on who you plan to work for, I probobly can help you get a clearer picture. I've been a corporate chef, so I might be able to help.

Joined Jul 11, 2003
Your information is helpful, unfortunately Im in the interviewing process so Im not at liberty to say who the "concept restaurant" is, but their menu is very dated and in need of help. Supposedly it is a scratch kitchen. Any advice on what they are looking for in a chef...something extra to get me in. Thanks

Joined Oct 28, 1999
I would echo DRX's comments and add a few of my own, if I may.

Creativity can be limited; in general, a concept/formula/corporate establishment must operate from a prescribed (and well rehearsed) set of plans. As such, recipes have been researched, costed, tested and implemented to ensure profitability as well as efficiency. VERY big concept to keep in mind; methods for disciplining staff, accounting practices, pay scales, etc are all part of 'the plans.'

The structure and organization of 'formula' operations is in place to establish consistent operations from day-to-day and unit-to-unit. Sometimes, there can be an overwhelming amount of paperwork and organizational work that is necessary to compliment the regimen that supports this consistency. Love it or hate, it is what it is.