Coq Au Vin

Joined Aug 17, 2016
Hello I'm new to ChefTalk.  What a great site!

I am making Coq au vin for the first time and would like to get it right the first time as it is for a group of foodies. 

I'm searching for the best recipe - better than Ina Garten's if you can imagine that.  Not a professional cook so if you have tips that might help me with the finished product please kindly share.   I appreciate any advice.

What is it best served with?   

Thank you! 

Joined Aug 15, 2003
Who's going to be the first to say that you can't make real coq au ven without an old rooster? Come on, I know someone wants to.....

I would check out Alton Brown. He must have a good recipe. The main thing is to make sure you marinate overnight and don't overcook.

Usually the stew has enough going on to be served on its own, i.e. you don't need many side dishes. Some plain starch like boiled potatoes or buttered noodles should work. Maybe a nice bitter salad for contrast. A baguette with salted butter for soaking sauce. And wine....natch. Making me hungry.

You might look at several recipes to compare notes. I would look into making your own stock too. It's easy and makes a HUGE difference.

If you have time, do a practice run. Work out the kinks before hand. Adjust the recipe as needed.

It is not hard to make, but comprises a lot of steps so it can be daunting...practice if you can.

Joined May 5, 2010
I use Julia Child's recipe from her 2 volume set on French Cooking.

It is a tried and true recipe. I have been using it for decades.

Joined Apr 3, 2008
A classic and lovely dish.  Any recommendations @French Fries?