copyright question

Joined Jan 26, 2004
I am a pastry chef who depends heavily on cookbooks, the internet and such for inspiration. I am about to start working in a new place and I will be working with a gal who asked a question to which I thought I had an answer.

What is the policy for using other people's recipes in a restaurant? What about if you find a muffin recipe in the internet and you use it in your restarant without changing it? And if you use a flourless chocolate recipe for the evening dessert but then you create a new dish by deciding how to serve it? Is it copyright infringement because you make a profit out of it?

I initially thought that once things are published they are for grab, not to be used in your own cookbook, but certainly in you home or professional kitchen. Am I wrong?

Just curious.

Laura:chef:

Joined Oct 9, 2002
I'm no lawyer, but my take on what I've learned here and elsewhere online is that other people's recipes are ok to use, just not reprint and/or claim as your own. To take that point one step further, the formula itself is not protected, but only the preparation instructions that are protected.

Of course, you'll do yourself no good to not give credit where credit is due. ;) But using recipes for commercial application should be fair game...unless, of course, the author clearly states that the recipes are not intended for that purpose. I'd guess that to be highly unlikely.

Joined Mar 12, 2004
Copyright is all about publishing, not using. So you are completely in the clear by using any recipe from anywhere in a restaurant.

If at some point you decide to write a cookbook or do a cooking show and claim those recipe as yours without modification, you could potentially get in trouble. On the other hand, you could modify and state that it was an adaptation of a recipe by so-and-so and you would be in clear so long as it is a true adaptation and not just a change of words.

Joined Jul 16, 2003