cooking questions

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by wizcat3, Oct 17, 2003.

  1. wizcat3

    wizcat3

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Does anyone have a receipe for Pate a Fruit without using apple pectin.
    Cant use pectin because its not kosher. Ive tried to make this with only using apples, but it burns before it gels. Paris Gourmet said they had a receipe on there web, but I could not find it. Thanks for your help W
     
  2. miahoyhoy

    miahoyhoy

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exp:
    Professional Chef
  3. suzanne

    suzanne

    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    11
    Exp:
    Food Editor
    Pectin is not kosher? I'm surprised, since it's vegetable matter. What makes it not kosher?
     
  4. anneke

    anneke

    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    11
    Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Would it make a difference if it were pectin from apple skins vs apple seeds?
     
  5. kuan

    kuan Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,713
    Likes Received:
    325
    Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Maybe it's not certified kosher. Maybe you can get kosher pectin.
     
  6. mezzaluna

    mezzaluna

    Messages:
    9,204
    Likes Received:
    65
    Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Here's a link to just one example. http://www.ou.org/kosher/updates/5762/new97.htm

    I googled "kosher jam pectin" and got a number of pages. As Suzanne said, pectin is a fruit product, therefore it's not only intrinsically kosher, it's parve. It just may not have been officially certified kosher and have a hekscher (stamp of approval).

    Good luck with your quest!