Cooking Live Lobster

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by handofike, Apr 21, 2011.

1. handofike

handofike

Exp:
    Home Chef
    I have decided to cook Lobster for my girlfriend.... the only way I can kill it is to freeze it to death first.... What is the best way to thermadore it after this has been done, straight from the freezer or thaw a little? Roughly how long to cook to sweet and tender???

Thanks

2. kyheirloomer

kyheirloomer

Exp:
    Food Writer
    Why are you freezing it? That's really a strange way of killing something.

3. chefedb

chefedb

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Have you ever worked with Lobster before?  I don't think so !

4. handofike

handofike

Exp:
    Home Chef
    I was told that as I'm a novice that freezing was the easiest way as they trash around a lot if you boil them live and it's difficult for a novice to cut the spinal cord.....

5. iceman

iceman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    My goodness. Take it easy on the guy. He's not quite so sure about his methods, wherever he may have gotten them from, and he's coming here for better advice. 

You don't even have to kill them, just drop them in the screamingly boiling water (Julia Child did it that way so it can't be wrong), or you can jab them just behind the head w/ a Chef's knife in the nice crevasse of their shell. A fraction of a second, lights out. 

Now as for cooking times, here's an "IDEA", not gospel carved in stone: 

Boiled : 1 lb. : 12 - 15 minutes / 1-1/2 lbs. : 15 - 20 minutes. /  2-3 lbs. :  20 - 25 minutes / 3-1/2 - 5 lbs. :  25 - 30 minutes

Steamed : 1-1-1/2 lbs. :  20 minutes

Grilled Whole *(pre-cooked) : 1-1-1/2 lbs. :  2 - 3 minutes

Grilled Tails : Each : 5 - 7 minutes

Broiled Whole *(pre-cooked) : 1-1-1/2 lbs. : 3 - 4 minutes

Broiled Tails : Each : 9 - 10 minutes

Last edited: Apr 21, 2011
  6. handofike

handofike

Exp:
    Home Chef
    Thanks Iceman... I always thought that was the idea of forums too....