Cooking for the boss

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by tanksagain, Dec 23, 2003.

1. tanksagain

tanksagain

I've invited my boss and his wife over for dinner in the new year. I'm a pretty good cook and love trying new recipes. I know my boss has a real appreciation of good food and good times. So, I'm working on the menu. I love to cook so I take every opportunity I can to try different approaches, different things with food.
    I'm thinking maybe French. I enjoy the slow process of french cooking, it so brings out the flavours. My Chicken Marengo is excellent, but perhaps too heavy. Hmm, no, I'll go light with the rest of the menu, not the chicken. Okay, so what would go well with Chicken Marengo? Does anyone have any ideas? A peasant salad perhaps, a medley of root vegetables?

2. chefa1a

chefa1a

[see what likes, but start with an impressive appetizer

a savory strudel in filo or puff pastry are ussually crowd pleasers

(for example lobster, mushroom,) or a homemade spingroll.

These are a little labor intensive but they whew your guests

if the weather is cold in your area do a stew or an osso bucco

or a one pot dish. once again requires some pre-cooking but the good thing is that it is basically a scoop and serve meal and you get to sit down with your guests

then dazzle them with a special dessert

bannanas foster are really easy but impresive

get some funky hagendazz ice cream flavor

think ahead be smart and have fun

3. tanksagain

tanksagain

Thanks for your ideas!
    I'm thinking of starting with amuse bouche, then a salad, soup, the entree (marengo or filet mignon, not sure) and ending with cherries jubilee.
    What type of vegetables would go well?
    thanks

4. soussweets

soussweets

i agree with the osso buco idea,,,, you get to serve it in an intimate and inviting fassion that only a family style prepared braise can offer.

5. pete

pete Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Professional Chef