Cooking Chicken dinner....Help?!?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by newatthis, Dec 9, 2010.

1. newatthis

newatthis

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Ok, I'm new at having to cook dinner everynight and I'm not sure what to fix.  We don't have much in the house.  Any Ideas??

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Nothing wrong with simple.

Roast the chicken simply seasoned with salt, pepper, maybe a little dried thyme. Or most any single commonly dried herb like rosemary, or sage or oregano. You should have at least one of those around.  While this video includes a little more complex seasoning, and some other extras, the method for roasting a chicken is sound.

I prefer to roast breast down to start and finish breast up but that's not as important as getting comfortable with roasting a chicken in the first place.

A simple baked potato would be good but with your oven busy with the chicken, we'll skip that sort of thing for the moment. Boil some spaghetti. Drain and wait until the chicken is done to make the sauce. Put some real butter in a pan on medium low heat to melt. Add a little crushed garlic. and wait for the butter to just start to color. Pour some of this butter over the spaghetti and grate on some myzithra cheese.

Steam some fresh vegetables. Carrots or broccoli are easy and fairly quick.

Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  3. gunnar

gunnar

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Is it whole chicken or just breasts or thighs? I like to get a cast iron pan nice and hot then take the pieces of chicken I have oiled salt peppered and used a bit of soy sauce on, then pan sear them on each side for a few minutes, sprinkle with a good amount of parmesan or asiago cheese and toss into a preheated 350 degree oven for another 8-10 minutes, then make a nice crust of the cheese by turning on the broiler for a minute or two. let rest, then slice and serve with either rice or baked potatoes and some steamed veg.

oh, and welcome to cheftalk