Cooking and relationships

Joined Jun 9, 2001
Dear All,

I am feeling very depressed right now and I am not sure who to turn to so I decided to write a post about it and maybe get some opinions and comfort from other people.

I graduated from the CIA in New York about 3 months ago and started this wonderful job as executive chef of a country club in oregon. My finacee (audrey) is still in NY studing at the CIA to be a pastry chef. We went through a lot of pain trying to figuar out where I should go. Take a cooks job on the east or a chefs job on the west. We decided that i would come out to the west and save money to get married and start a life for us. So I came all the way out here to do so.

The other night, we talked and she cheated on me and wanted to end our relationship. I had no clue why and she said that it is becasue I wasent in NY with her. I told her that I am here to save for our future. She only looks at the small picture and not the big picture. she couldnt see that i am here for us. I am so sad and angry becasue i feel that i came out here for nothing.

So now i am here and I do not know anyone in this town and to be frank, I am good with people but i do not know hwere to find people to meet. Last night, two of my waitresses and i went to see a movie and then later that night, two of my pm cooks and I went to the bar. It was a lot of fun but i am still plagued on hwere to meet people.

i know this business is hard and that something will suffer. I once heard Thomas Kellar say that either you be a successful chef which will casue sacrafice usually in your personal life or you be an ok chef and have a family. I want both. I want to be the best culinarian I can but also have a family. i feel that half of it is torn away from me. i know there are a lot of sacrafices being in this business but i guess i am going through a real hard time right now.

Joined Jan 5, 2001
Isaac,