Cookbook for widely available ingrdients, simple dishes?

Discussion in 'Cookbook Reviews' started by jellymister, Nov 24, 2004.

1. jellymister

jellymister

Hey all,

I just found this forum and am pleased as pie. I am a journalist living in Taiwan who has been addicted to food for life. I cook occasionallly and read about food way too much. I live in a small apartment, space being rare in a crowded Asian city. I have two gas burners and a cheap confectioners oven.

I was wondering if there was a cookbook out there with excellent recipies with very few ingredients, say four to seven tops. I've got Larousse Gastronomique, and a handful of books, most of which strike me as pretentious such as a fusion Asian cuisine book that calls for 15 ingredients or more for every recipie. I was hoping someone could direct me to a book that might include a simple potato soup with butter, potatoes, onions and water or purple cabbage with vinegar, butter, sliced Golden Delicious Apples and brown sugar. I've got those recipies, but I was hoping for something that had such things bound in one place. I'm not looking for things that are "easy" to cook, but finding a number of ingredients here such as fresh figs or artichokes, morrels or truffles, fresh tarragon or fresh oysters is nearly impossible.

And yes, I'm learning about Chinese cuisine, but I have several local friends who are interested in eating things that I would eat at home. Oh, what I would do for some smoked trout!

And have any of you read John Lanchester's Debt to Pleasure?

Thanks ahead of time :)

2. milez

milez

3. lotsarecipes

lotsarecipes

I have 2 of her books and have taken many out of the library. I have also seen her biography. She's famous for having recipes with everyday ingredients.

Ruth
    www.lotsarecipes.com

4. stephsherman323

stephsherman323