Conflicted on my future

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by shumaza, May 4, 2010.

1. shumaza

shumaza

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hello, i've been cooking for the better part of my 25 years be it at home, at applebees or one of three retirment homes.  Food has always been my greatest passion and one of the only things i've ever been able to do well.  My problem is i don't know if it's what i want to do for a living,  i'm married with a child and to be honest the idea of working 12 hours a day five days a week is not something i want to do.. i enjoy being with my family and free time and have never been a workaholic.  I realize their are all kinds of different cooking jobs but what i wanted to know is how common is it to work in a kitchen part time or even a smaller bistro/cafe. 

As a side note we are moving to jonesboro georgia which is just south of atlanta and the school i have been looking at there LCB  and i was wondering if anyone had any useful information on them.

thank you for your time!

2. gunnar

gunnar

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Well, I would first say that it depends how bad you need the money. I haven't had to pull a whole bunch of 12 hour days in a long time. I don't make a whole bunch of money cooking either but I do alright and have plenty of time to devote to other things. Some of them are supposed to start making me money too....eventually.

If your not interested in being the owner of a restaurant or the Head Chef I wouldn't suggest LCB as an option for school as there is probably a cooking class at the community college for much cheaper. 

3. shumaza

shumaza

Exp:
    At home cook