Cold-Holding Pasta Sauce for Service?

Joined Sep 28, 2016
Hi there, I have a VERY small space that allows for take-away only. I'm thinking of doing pasta, but I'm not very experienced in it and looking for help. I was originally thinking to premake 3 or 4 sauces to be held cold, along with some vegetables, sous vide chicken, baked meatballs, and pasta that has been cooked a few minutes shy of being done. When an order comes in, vegetables into the skillet, then sauce, then protein, and finally the pasta to finish. I was talking to a friend and she said pasta sauces do not hold well, especially cream sauces. But then I came across this video, and they are holding 8 sauces for service (hot or cold I don't know).

So my questions are (1) do you think the sauces in the above video are being held hot or cold? (2) If Im planning on finishing in the skillet, are holding sauces cold acceptable? (3) If I want to have a cream style sauce, should I make a bechamel, hold it cold, and then add flavorings (parmesan, cajun spice, mustard, pesto, etc) to the pan when its reheating?

I know a bunch of sauces can be made a la minute, but I have a tiny space and live overseas in a country where it's difficult to find and retain good staff. I would much rather myself make and prep sauces in the morning to have them consistent, then rely on my staff for just the assembly of the dishes. I have a SMALL space and for what my setup allows, I would like to do something along the lines of the video above.

THANK YOU very much!!! Your input and suggestions help in ways you can't imagine!

Joined May 5, 2010
Hey Steve....I see you posted in another forum with questions about sauce.
What you are basically doing here is what we call a pasta station at a buffet. Offering sauces, pasta and proteins, quickly cooked and served.