CMC examinations at CIA

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by ironchefatl, Feb 5, 2003.

1. ironchefatl

ironchefatl

Exp:
    Other
    I thought I would share with you guys my experiences from the past two days. I am a student at the CIA. I have an on-campus job in our continuing education building. Right now is the CMC tests held here at the culinary in the cont. ed. I ate breakfast in the room with the canadaites, and see all the CMC judges in the halls. I got to talk to one from Houston, but I just talked about TX with him. At breakfast a man walked up to one of the judges and asked how it was going. He repilied "we lost two the other day." Like no, biggy just crushed thier dreams. The rumor around here is that one canidaite failed for going past the time limit. The judge told him to stop and he made a few extra slices. The judge said "you're done" The canidaite looked shocked as he was told he had failed and "it's over". The last part like said might be a slighly exaggerated rumor. Anyway it is awsome being in the building and room with this stuff going on. The class I work with is called boot camp. Just people (not professionals) that want a week of education for home use. Our room is used later for the CMCs, and people look in trying to see the CMCs. All they get to see is a bunch of housewives and older men. LMAO

2. tigerwoman

tigerwoman

Could you explain the acronyms such as CMC?

CIA is of course the Culinary Institute of America, but that reminds me of a very funny story from a job a long time ago.

My husband and I had just moved back East from California and I found out I was pregnant. That changed all our plans to move to Australia, etc. So while we were figuring out what we wanted to do, we took a seasonal job at a summer resort. Basically a cross between Club Med and summer camp, called Club Getaway in Kent Connecticut.

It was owned by a family and the patriach was a crotchty old geezer who was very demanding.