CIA vs. NECI

Joined Jan 21, 2002
These seem to be the two best schools in the U.S. (in my opinion). Who here are grads of these two schools and would you be willing to share your experiences?

nicko

Founder of Cheftalk.com
Staff member
Joined Oct 5, 2001
I am a 91' graduate of CIA and I had an excellent experience while I attended the CIA. There is little I know about the other school so I can't really comment on it. However, as far as CIA I feel it is one of the best places to get a good foundation for your cooking career. There was a fair amount of competition between the students when I was there but as long as you don't let this get to you it actually can help motivate you.

Joined Jun 9, 2001
i am also a grad of the cia (just graduated and on to my Bachlors).

it is a wonderful school.

when i was trying to pick schools (cia was not one of them), i asked some chefs that i worked for a simple question: what is the best school in the world? they all said CIA. i must admit, they are right.

it is tough to compare NECI and CIA becasue they are two diffrent programs.

i must say that i am very impressed with the cia. there is tons of room to learn out side of the classroom. we have the biggest culinary library and the biggest culinary video library in the world. we have the most CMC's, CMPA's, and the most CMB's then any other school. we have much better resources here as well.

i guess you coudl say i am a little biest.

the best thing for you to do is to get a course outline from each school, compare them and what they can do for yo uafter school and then go visit both schools.

if u need any more help, feel free to email me at [email protected]

best of luck

pete

Staff member
Joined Oct 7, 2001