Choux pastry

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by markos sdranis, Jan 7, 2018.

1. markos sdranis

markos sdranis

Exp:
    apprenti
    Hello, I'm not pastry chef but I am a professional cook so I hope you don't mind me posting here. The way our pastry chef made choux pastries is 50-50 water-milk , butter, little sugar, little salt, flour and a lot of eggs. The way our chef made choux pastries for gnocchi is with more water instead of milk, less eggs and more flour.

I use the first recipe to scale when I make paris brest, then I make "clouds" for a lack of a better word (I don't know how else to describe it in english), and I bake at 200 for about 25 minutes. Now my problem is that some turn out great, some dish inwards on the bottom and some don't get baked properly and deflate when I take them out. Is is my oven, my recipe, my technique or did I get cursed?

Thank you in advance

2. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    Probably your oven. If you mess up the recipe/technique, none of them will turn out good.

flipflopgirl and WB616 like this.
  3. markos sdranis

markos sdranis

Exp:
    apprenti
    If I add more fat in my dough, whether that is as heavy cream or butter, should I add less flour to make it less thick? What I do is slice the top off and fill it then close it up again, and I wanted to try different fillings with a more buttery, fatty , dough.

4. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    I wouldn't add too much fat to the recipe. It will affect the rise. Decreasing the flour will also affect the structure.

Usually, the choux shell serves as a vessel to deliver the filling. You don't really taste much of the pastry itself.

You can, however, play with the texture a bit. Using milk as the liquid gives you a more tender product, while using water gives a crisper result. Baking until completely dry makes it crunchy, while baking just until cooked makes it soft. Anything in between works accordingly.